Busy Weekend

I had the busiest Sunday in memory. Me and Kevin left the apartment at 10am to go to the Christening of my cousins’ baby. Kevin had to film it, I had to take photographs. Me and Kevin aren’t really church people. My parents never took me to church, and Kevin hasn’t been since the 80’s. He was surprised they dropped the Latin. Actually, I think he was kinda upset they dropped the Latin. Anyways, me and Kevin aren’t big fans of Christian music in general.

Father Fred did give an interesting sermon at one point in the mass. He was saying how anytime you have something of monetary value on your person you are super careful. If you have a large amount of cash, you make sure you know where it is and it won’t fall out of your pocket. If you have a winning lotto ticket, you don’t let it out of your site, etc, etc. Then he related it to the people in your life, some people ensure that the people they love about are always okay. It was very touching. He somehow brought it around to making priorities in life, not becoming too wrapped up in the little things. It reminded me of Chuck Palahniuk’s philosophy at one point. Then he ruined the mood by bringing it all around to my relationship with Jesus. I was immediately jolted back to my non-belief.

After the Christening we went to start set up for the baby shower for the same baby. It was interesting. A Jack and Jill shower. Me and Kevin resumed our duties of photographer and videographer. Yadda, yadda, yadda, next thing ya know it was 4:00 and the shower was over.

We stopped quickly by my Aunt & Uncle’s to congratulate them on a successful day, then went off to Celebrations with Kevin’s parents for a 5:30 showing of Desperate Households. We enjoyed it quite a bit. I think it was because me and Kevin both had watched Season 1 of Desperate Housewives and got the references/parallels for once.

We got home at 9:00pm and just went to bed and read until we fell asleep.

It was fun, but I cannot keep up that level of energy very often. I felt like I missed a day of relaxation.

  • I just finished watching the premiere of Heroes. It was awesome. I can’t wait for next week.
  • I’ve been wracking my brain to try and figure out the Search For Gold clues again. I need that $5000!
  • I got my hair cut on Friday. It’s the shortest I’ve had it in about 6 years. Last time I cut it his short my Mom teared up that I had cut off all my long, beautiful hair. This time around I’ve been slowly cutting it shorter over the past year. Less shocking on people.
  • I’ve decided to get Winnipeg Flash Mob into active status again. I was quite lazy over the summer. We’re going to be doing a Zombie Walk for around Halloween.
~ by Cara on September 24, 2007.

One Response to “Busy Weekend”

  1. I’m gonna start my own religion where no one worships Jesus….instead, they worship a guy named Jebus, who sounds a lot like me….

Leave a Reply

 
