Happy Six Months Athena

Athena turned six months old yesterday. I truly do not know where time has gone.  It’s been half a year since we brought her home as a newborn babe…all 7 lbs of her.   As I write this she is asleep in her swing… all 18 lbs of her.  She looks so beautiful as she sleeps.  Sometimes I wish I could freeze time so we could stay like this forever.  But, this is a good day.  🙂  On a bad day I can’t wait until she’s older and more self-reliant.  So I’m trying to live in the present, and not worry about things that were, or things that will be.

I am so excited about Christmas this year. Every year it’s going to be more fun as she gets older and starts to understand the significance of the holidays.   Seeing her excitement on Christmas morning when she realizes that Santa has been there to deliver presents.  Actually watching her open her gifts with youthful excitement.  I plan to go to the Forks soon and buy a Christmas ornament I saw there a few months ago. It’s a Christmas tree bulb that says something along the line of “Baby’s First Christmas.” It’ll be a beautiful keepsake.  

Kevin put up our Christmas tree on the weekend, but I’m only getting around to decorating it today.  Fortunately, it’s a pre-lit tree, so even without any decorations, it still looks quite pretty. This year I am again using Mom’s old decorations that she gave to us last year.  It’s funny thinking some of the decorations are older than me. 🙂 It’s also nice because it reminds me of my childhood. I hope next year we’ll have some spare money so I can go and buy some new decorations for the tree and apartment.

~ by Cara on December 11, 2008.

Leave a comment