Friday, December 12

Well, today I have finally done something about the big problem of old clothing taking over all the space in my closet. I just called Clothesline to pick up all my old clothes. It supports the Canadian Diabetes Association. They apparently give the clothes to Value Village who then donates money to the Diabetes Association.  What’s great is that they come right to the apartment to pick everything up. I feel like a big weight has been lifted off my shoulders.  It annoys me that the entire floor of my closet is taken up by clothes I have no desire to ever wear again.  Once those are gone I can move my shoe rack from Athena’s closet to mine, and there will be more closet space in her room to store all of her stuff.  Now I just need to sort through all my junk in the storage closet. Once the storage closet problem is fixed I will be quite happy. So will Kevin.

I went down to the lobby this morning because today is Tenant Appreciation Day, and there was free coffee and donuts.  I went down after dropping Kevin off at work and was given some excellent news.  Our landlord informed us that the tenants on our floor who have been causing trouble for the last few months are being evicted! Yay! Apparently there was another incident last night. Fortunately, for once, we didn’t hear it. They have until Tuesday to be gone. This news has totally made my day.  This building has been very quiet for the entire 2 years we have lived here. Those people move in and there’s trouble.  People are calling security and the police. I’m so happy.

I bought some non-alcoholic wine at Safeway this week. I gotta admit, it’s grown on me. The first sip I took I hated it. I thought it tasted like grape juice.  Kevin took a sip and said it tasted just like wine.  I tried it again and realized he was right.  Without the burn of alcohol I just didn’t realize the actual wine taste was still there. So I’ve been having a glass per day as a little treat.  The last time I got drunk was Uncle Donnie’s birthday party in August 2007. It’s been so long since I’ve had a hangover I don’t think I ever want to get drunk again. I think I’m past the point in life where I want to get wasted.  It’s amazing. This is contentment.

This fall I started to watch Lost.  It is the most  amazing, awesome, brilliantly written show ever. As you can tell, I’m a fan. I bought season one as a little gift for me in early September. I then have been renting seasons two, and three from Movie Village since then. Now season four was just released on DVD this Tuesday. Movie Village only appears to have one copy and it got rented out right away. It’s frustrating, I want to know what happens!  Oh, well.  I’ve got until January 21, 2009 to watch season four. That’s when season five premieres. Fortunately, Lost airs on a Wednesday and I currently do not watch any shows on Wednesdays, so no conflicts!  If anyone ever wants to discuss Lost with me, just bring it up. Just don’t mention season four until I have actually watched it.

I love Guillermo Del Toro.  He appears to have the same tastes and interests as me. I loved both Hellboy movies. I recall that I becamse a huge fan of the first Hellboy movie because of the Lovecraftian elements to it.  Then, last year, I hear about this. Guillermo Del Toro is directing a movie adaptation of At the Mountains of Madness. Lovecraft’s most important, sweeping epic, in my humble opinion. This was the first story I ever read by Lovecraft. I loved it. I bought a used copy of it from a book sale at Red River College when I was eighteen years old.  I remember thinking that it would make a good movie in the right hands, but that it would probably never happen.  Sometimes I hear about movie adaptations and I just feel a sinking dread, knowing in my heart that the movie will not do the story justice. This, however, I feel only excitement.  I know, that if anyone can do this story justice, it is Del Toro. 

Continuing with my love of all things Guillermo, today I see this article. The Witches was one of my favourite books in childhood. I loved all things written by Roald Dahl. I am also looking forward to the fact that it will be a stop motion animation film.  I now want to go out and buy a copy of The Witches to refresh my memory of the tale.  I’m sure Athena will love the story as well one day.

~ by Cara on December 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
