How Life Changes…

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted around here. Where to begin. I think I just need to come right out and announce that I’m approximately 20 weeks pregnant! It’s still unbelievable. This means I got pregnant sometime in September and didn’t even begin suspecting until early December. Before you ask how I didn’t know, I’ll just say that I still had my period in September, October and November. It didn’t show up in December so that’s when I bought a home pregnancy test.

 It was kind of a relief because I had gained a little weight in the stomach lately and was getting upset about gaining weight for no apparent reason.

 Me and Kevin have decided to drastically revise our wedding plans. Now, instead of getting married on October 4, 2008 we’re going to get married in early March with a small ceremony and dinner. We’ll have a wedding shower in April.  My due date right now is June 15, so we plan on having our wedding social on October 4th now. As for a baby shower, probably sometime in August or September sounds good. 

 We’re leaving the sex of the baby as a surprise. I figure if I have to go through labour I want a surprise at the end.

There is an interesting story to go along with finding out how far pregnant I was.

I took the home pregnancy test on December 14th. I figured I couldn’t be any further than 5 weeks pregnant.  On New Year’s Eve Day, I woke up early and had breakfast. I went to the bathroom and had some light bleeding. I was afraid of miscarriage so I went back to bed upset and fell asleep. Kevin called around 10:30 and told me call the hospital. I called the hospital who said call Health Links. I then called the Health Links 800 number and the nurse said go to emergency. I showed up at emergency about 11:45am. I brought a book to read and thank God I did because I waited by myself in emergency until around 2:45 when Kevin showed up after work. Long story short, we didn’t get out of there until 7:30pm. I had a stupid IV in my arm for about 3 hours because they had to keep taking blood from me. I had a huge bruise for the next 2 weeks on my arm. The doctor said it was a 50/50 chance I had a miscarriage and he scheduled me for an ultrasound January 2nd to find out for sure.

We show up for the ultrasound and I had to go in by myself and leave Kevin in the waiting area. The technician pushed that little sensor thing all over my lower abdomen for a very long time. The rules said I had to go into the test with a full bladder so her pressing on my bladder constantly was not fun. Finally she said the baby was fine and she went to bring Kevin into the room. Kevin came in, and she told us we were further along than we thought. I thought we were 7 weeks along, she said it looked more like 16 weeks!

So now everything is different.  

~ by Cara on January 27, 2008.

One Response to “How Life Changes…”

  1. Wow, that’s pretty something Cara!! Congrats to both you and Kevin, i hope everything will go great 😀

Leave a comment